Welcome to my blog!

Business Card logo 2016

So, here I go…joining the masses and starting my blog.  I’m nervous, yet excited.  Will I say something ridiculous?…Or share something of interest?…Will anyone happen upon my ramblings?

Like most, I have a crazy, busy life. My husband and I live in Toronto, Canada and have three incredible boys (now young men!) who leave us feeling very proud and blessed. Holmesmith Handmade, my business and passion, offers handcrafted and personalized textile goods that are timeless, practical and skillfully crafted!   Unique, thoughtful gifts for friends and family.

While beauty and quality are paramount, it is important that my goods are hard working, practical and improve with age.  Holmesmith Handmade was inspired by my love of natural fibres, simpler times and my family roots.  As a child visiting my grandmother, I was surrounded by textures, sounds and smells that would never leave me.  A talented seamstress she was, handcrafting so many of the items she used in everyday life…aprons, tea towels, table linens, bread bags, clothing and shoe bags.  Sometimes re-purposing grain and flour sacks, but always using strong, natural fabrics like linen and natural cotton.

With many of the traditions originating from her farming days, I recall the earthy, organic smelling ‘root cellar’ with its heavy trap door, dirt floor and burlap bags storing the latest harvest of potatoes, rutabaga and onions.  The shelving was lined with canning and preserves…everything from peaches to pickles.

An avid baker, most mornings she was busy baking homemade goodness for her hungry family and farmhands.  Mmmm…the smell of warm fresh baked bread, which of course was stored in natural linen bags she had sewn.

Inspired by these things, and my own mother who inherited many of these traditions, my goal is to bring a touch of this organic, timeless lifestyle to life’s daily chores.  And if it makes you smile just a bit…that’s good too!

Thank you for stopping by and welcome to my blog… I hope that you will consider visiting my web shop (holmesmith.com) and sign up to receive future posts about my work, my inspiration and the latest projects from my workroom (lovingly referred to by my family as “the sweatshop”)!

One thought on “Welcome to my blog!

  1. Hey Janet, By friend Colleen loved the towel I gave to her daughter for her first birthday…fantastic job!! I’ll be back for more🙂

Leave a Reply

